Arab States
South East Asia
Southern Asia

Double Bass exams

Double Bass exams consist of three pieces, chosen by the candidate from the appropriate lists in the current syllabus, scales and arpeggios, sight-reading and aural tests.

Total marks in all individual Practical exams are 150. 100 marks are required to achieve Pass, 120 marks to pass with Merit and 130 marks to pass with Distinction.

There are eight grades of assessment. Select a grade using the links below in order to view the syllabus and supporting materials for that grade.

Ben Burnley, ABRSM scholar at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, shares his syllabus highlights:

"One of my favourite pieces from the Double Bass syllabus is Dittersdorf, 2nd movement from Concerto No. 2 at Grade 8. It’s a lovely movement and a great piece to help establish a good musical line as it has lots of freedom to do so. It also helps with intonation work because of its shifts from normal position to thumb position.

Another of my favourite pieces is the Henry Eccles sonata (2nd and 3rd movement). This piece introduces a dance baroque style to playing the bass and also some improvisation of ornaments to make the piece more personal to the player."

Publications & audio


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. By using our website, you are agreeing to our cookie policy and consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

closer Close this message